A Couple of New Toys

I have discussed wine gadgets several times, and I dislike beating the subject to death, but I recently received a couple of gadgets that I think deserve mentioning.

 Decanter and funnel

The first item is another decanter, and yes there are several decanters already in this house, and it is in the classic style.  What is unique at least to me is the funnel with a micro screen mesh to make decanting a little easier.  Now there is just something as elegant as decanting an older bottle of wine over the flickering flame of a tapered candle.  This allows the wine to aerate and it also eliminates the sediment that can be found in the bottom of older Claret.  There is also the time when a newer bottle of wine needs to be decanted because the cork has crumbled and fallen into the bottle, and that is some fiber that is not necessary for the enjoyment of a bottle of wine.  This may alleviate the need for my using my tried and true method of using coffee filter papers in a funnel as I decant the wine, and it will look much classier.

 Travel Wine Pump

The other gadget and I must admit that both of these were gifts from my Bride, who just adores gadgets of all types, especially for the kitchen.  Naturally these are part of her bailiwick, or an adjunct to her domain.  The other gadget that I am looking forward to trying is a “wine pump” which we have used on those odd occasions when there is some wine left over.  What is intriguing about this particular pump, is that it is self contained in the stopper itself, and should be great to keep in my Dopp kit when we travel.  We like to have a bottle of wine in our hotel room, especially during the time when we are getting dressed to go out for dinner in the evening.  I will only need this pump, and not a separate pump attachment, so that will be one less item to pack and worry about.  I think that this is very ingenious and I am looking forward to trying it out as soon as possible.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Couple of New Toys

  1. frankstero says:

    If there are fragments of cork in the bottle then no need to filter, just flick them into a sink, only the smallest amount of wine escapes.

  2. I have that filter funnel – I love it for those bottles with lots of sediment. We have a Riedel decanter that is shaped like that too! I love wine gadgets!

Leave a Reply

