A New Cabernet Sauvignon for Me

The Christmas Holiday season has created havoc with everyone’s diets, but that is fine.  There was a big dinner for the families at a restaurant that I have written about several times already, usually with my dinner group, but my Bride and her family use this venue once a month for their “cousin’s get-together.”  There we were again at Masters Restaurant in the big back room and it was at full capacity.

 Oberon Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley 2011

There was a large group all ordering different dishes, without any problems perceived from the kitchen or the wait staff.  My Bride started off with an appetizer, as I had to meet her there, as I had to be elsewhere earlier that day.  Then we had salads and we both had an entrée dish of Sirloin tips over rice pilaf, as it was a different dish then I usually have there with my dinner club.  I had to laugh, because when we ordered a lemon cream dessert, our waitress looked at me, and said “you are not going to have vanilla ice cream with chocolate syrup” which is the normal desert served at my club functions.

 MI The Masters Restaurant BC

When I walked into the dining area, where everyone was at, one of the first people that I met was my Brother-in-Law from Louisville and he had scoped out the wine list and touted me to order the Oberon Cabernet Sauvignon Napa Valley 2011.  He said that he was already enjoying it, and he also said that it was at a very reasonable price.  Oberon Wines are part of the Michael Mondavi Family wine group.  This wine was made from grapes grown in several different sections of Napa Valley and it was 89% Cabernet Sauvignon; the rest of the wine was from a blend of Merlot, Syrah, Petit Verdot and 5% other red wine varietals.  For a new wine it was very well made and easy to drink immediately, though the twelve months in oak, probably helped mellow the wine before we had it.  I hope that the restaurant still has this wine the next time I am there, as it was very enjoyable and I would have it again.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Cabernet Sauvignon for Me

  1. We carry Oberon at our WF store. Looking forward to trying it. Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

