A Few More Wine Gifts from Friends

As I have stated before, and I am sure that other wine lovers can concur, that there are a lot of people that are hesitant to try to buy a bottle of wine for us as gifts.  Some people are indifferent to the concerns and buy a bottle that they enjoy and hope that we (as wine lovers) will enjoy as well.

 Hess Select Chardonnay Monterey 2008

I recently received three bottles of wine, and the first one, I have already enjoyed with some friends.  The first bottle came with a caveat that they hoped this wine was up to my standards and it was.  The wine was a Hess Select Chardonnay Monterey 2008.  My Bride and I visited Hess on our trip to Napa and I have written about it before.  This bottle while not from the Napa Valley is from the Monterey region, and I do enjoy most of the Chardonnay wines from this area.  Hess is a fine winery and I think that even their basic wines deliver quality and I will always opt for a bottle from them, where ever I am.

 Contempo Inferno NV

The second wine that I received was a proprietary red wine blend from the Fresno County area.  The wine is Contempo Inferno NV.  The blend is definitely a proprietary blend as I could not find any of the varietals listed for this wine, but I did find some reviews, and most felt that it was a good wine to serve to crowds where the nuance of the wine would be secondary to the event.  We shall see, at a later time.

 Walker Red Wine Napa Valley 2011

The third wine was Walker Red Wine Napa Valley 2011.  This is another proprietary blend of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Syrah.  All three of these varietal grapes grow well in the Napa Valley.  It is a popular price wine, which should not be held against it, as not every wine from Napa Valley has to be a Screaming Eagle to be good.  Once again time will tell, when I open up this bottle of wine.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Few More Wine Gifts from Friends

  1. HESS Chardonnay could easily be one of my house white wines. I say could because I can never pick just one 🙂
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

