Some Fun Dinners at Home

Given my preferences, I prefer Armenian cuisine, followed by Mediterranean style cuisine after that.  That is what I like, if not having something simple like a filet.  Of course my Bride gets bored with my requests and since we are getting the house ready for Thanksgiving, we have eaten in a bit more, so that we have more time to work around the house.

 Bowers Harbor Gewurztraminer 2008

One evening we had “General Tzu’s” chicken, or a loose adaptation of it, as I do not venture into that many Chinese restaurants as a rule, which does upset my Bride.  My concern is MSG, so she tends to make her versions of some of her favorite dishes and I try to abide.  To compliment the dinner we had a bottle of Bowers Harbor Vineyards Gewurztraminer 2008.  If you have not heard of Bowers Harbor Vineyards, you are excused, but they are a Michigan winery from Traverse City, on the Old Mission Peninsula.  This is an area that we enjoy going to for some fine dining and to try some of the wineries in the area.  The amount of wineries has grown since we first started going there.  I enjoy a Gewurztraminer wines with the spices in Chinese dishes, as this varietal has a spice to it as well, and seems to compliment the dishes.

 Cantina Zaccagnini Pinot Grigio 2012

Another evening, she made chicken in a Mole Sauce (I have no idea, how to get the proper diacritical accent markings, and I do not mean a mole that lives in the ground).  This is one of my favorite dishes when we go to a Mexican restaurant; in fact the restaurant looses points to me, if they do not offer this dish.  It is made using Mexican chocolate and though it sounds sweet, the dish is actually quite spicy with usually just a tinge of chocolate in the flavor.  For this dish we opened a bottle of Cantina Zaccagnini Pinot Grigio 2012.  This wine had a Colline Pescaresi IGT, which is one of several IGT designations for Abruzzo in Italy.  IGT is a designation for grape varietals that are not sanctioned by DOC rulings, with emphasis on a region and then the varietal.  “Super Tuscany” wines are IGT, as they are non-Italian varietals that have achieved great success in Tuscany.  I chose a Pinot Grigio as it is a very light white wine, which I felt would not fight the flavors of the Mole Sauce.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Some Fun Dinners at Home

  1. dwdirwin says:

    I have the same problem with those darn accent markings! One of the wines we make has two in the same word- eek! Sorry-non-wine related comment 🙂

    • I am laughing at your note. I know that there must be a trick to getting the computer to do it, but I have not discovered it. Out of curiosity what is the name of the wine, without the accents?

  2. dwdirwin says:

    oh boy, must be the nasty cold I have- I was confused- there are multiple wines with different accents, not one with two- le grande pere, le bete noir (which has a ^over the first e), La Boheme and of course plain old rose’ that I can’t get the ‘ in the right spot

  3. erika abate says:

    so nice to see our Bersano Barolo 1966 ! thanks a lot for this wonderful memory!

Leave a Reply

