A Unique Inquiry

I must say that routinely I get emails, texts, calls and messages asking for a suggestion about wine.  Sometimes it occurs while they are at a restaurant and they are daunted by the selections on the Wine Carte; and sometimes they are a wine shop searching for the perfect gift, that there wallet can afford.  I try to be as helpful and informative as I can be, because I appreciate that they think highly enough of me to seek my knowledge as limited as it can be.

 Ch. Mouton Rothschild 1881

I received a very unique request from someone that I did not know, the other day.  I am not sure how the gentleman found me, as he was searching for a wine label, and I do pride myself that I try to depict the actual label from the wines that I have enjoyed.  Sometimes I must use a photograph of the whole wine bottle to expedite an article, because I have not had the time to soak the label off of the bottle, or because I am traveling and I do not desire to travel with an empty wine bottle in my luggage.

 Ch Mouton-Rothschild 1961 Pauillac

The gentleman was in an acting class and he was going to be portraying Nathaniel de Rothschild and he was asking if I had a label from Chateau Mouton Rothschild from the late 1800’s.  I was flattered that anyone would think that I would have had a storied wine from that era.  I wrote to him that since after the last World War, Chateau Mouton Rothschild has been commissioning artist to design a different label for them each year.  I have had the good fortune to have tried several different vintages of this great house, but none from that period.  In fact, I am sorry to say that I have never had the good fortune to try any wines from the great vintage of 1945, but I have once tried a wine from the other great vintage of 1921.  My curiosity was piqued and I went off to see if I could find a label to help him with his request.  I did a Google search of images and found a label from Chateau Mouton Rothschild 1881, which I downloaded and sent the gentleman.  The picture had the provenance of the site that it came from in the picture and it was from majorcacellar.com and since it was on Google, I do hope that they don’t mind if I share it with everyone else, as I am sure that the majority of the readers, like myself have never seen a wine label from that era.  The gentleman wrote me back thanking me for the service and gave me the complimentary salutation that I was “a gentleman and a scholar” and I will humbly accept that accolade.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Unique Inquiry

  1. talkavino says:

    There is a restaurant in Miami Beach, which is called The Forge. The restaurant has a very substantial cellars ( valued at about $6M if I’m not mistaken), which includes a number of older vintages of Mouton Rothschild, starting from 1873. They also have a number bottles form the “artist series”. Here is my blog post about it: http://talk-a-vino.com/2012/02/05/touching-time/
    I own all the pictures in that post, so if there is anything of interest, I will be glad to share – however, for the better pictures I would recommend an actual visit to the restaurant – I’m sure they will be glad to help.

    • Thank you for that information, and this is a restaurant that I missed on my trips to Miami Beach, but I shall make it a point, if and when my Bride and I make another trip there.
      – John

Leave a Reply

