The Joys of Consulting

I have mentioned in the past that I was a clothier my entire career and now I am lending my knowledge and assistance as a retail consultant.  Besides offering suggestions on merchandising, displays, buying and store flow, I even on occasion wait on customers.  The store that I am assisting has a very nice collection of customers, some titans of industry, athletic coaches both professional and collegiate, and politicians and professional men from all types of careers.

 Bastide de Beauvert Cotes du Rhone 2010

I have found out through the years, that a good clothier not only has to be knowledgeable about fashion, fabrics, brands and construction of the garments, but he also sometimes serves as a concierge to the customer.  One has to listen to all of the customer’s statements to make them comfortable.  There are times when one even has to go beyond the venue of clothes to make the customer happy.  There are discussions of resorts, hotels and of restaurants both locally and across the country.  I have found that people of means are not parochial in their pursuits, so I try to stay abreast of an assortment of topics.  One of the topics that I find most customers enjoy discussing after their clothing requests is wine.  This store carries five imported beers, bottled water and a collection of wines for the customer and his spouse.

 Montagny Albert Bichot 2008

The other day I had the distinct pleasure of serving a red and a white wine for the customers as they shopped.   The first wine that I was pouring was Bastide de Beauvert Cotes du Rhone 2010.  This is a red wine from the Southern Rhone region and is a blend of Grenache, Syrah and Mourvedre.  It is not a real dry wine, nor is it a full bodied wine, but it is a great wine to serve someone, that is safe and dependable.  Through the years I have found great acceptance of Rhone wines by most people, even if they are not sure of what they are drinking at the moment.  The other wine that I was pouring was also a French wine from the Southern Burgundy region, the Cote Chalonnais.  It was a Montagny Albert Bichot 2008.  Montagny is one of the villages of note from the Cote Chalonnais and they are noted for their Chardonnay wines.  While not as full bodied and lush as the great white wines of Burgundy, the wines of Montagny are respected as having more character then some of the other villages of Cote Chalonnais.  It should a nice color and nose and showed some maturity that is often lacking in some Chardonnay wines.  There are days when it is a pleasure to go to work, after all, one must pre-taste the wines before serving them to company.  A terrible job, but somebody must do it.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Joys of Consulting

  1. You poor, poor thing, John! I pity you…:)

  2. Why don’t women get clothing stores like this?

    • Tracy,
      I am sure that there are some boutiques of this nature for women as well, you may just have to search harder, but they will be independently owned instead of corporate run. Maybe you need to get into the fashion world.

      • If I did get into the women’s fashion world, John, and if anyone would listen to me, I would turn it on it’s head.

        You’re right, maybe I should. Women’s wear needs a major overhaul–patterned after the classiest of the independent men’s wear stores.

Leave a Reply

