North at Kierland Commons

Sometimes the thirst must be self inflicted to leave one city in a desert Las Vegas to go to another desert in Arizona, and the temperature was about twenty degrees hotter as well.  I still get thirsty just thinking about it.  We went out to visit one of my Bride’s best friends and a former co-worker; in fact we had even attended her wedding.  We have visited her before in Phoenix, so it was going to be fun.

 Le Volte dell'Ornellaia 2011

When you get two ladies together, they immediately think of shopping and I just tag along.  We went to a delightful shopping district called Kierland Commons that was set up like a downtown area, with individual buildings, some with condos above and the mix of better chain stores that are in better malls around the country.  There was even curbside parking of automobiles, and a fine collection of cars were present.  They were in Seventh Heaven, and I in my “retail consultant” hat wandered around looking at all of the businesses and how all the stores seemed to be doing well.  My only disappointment was that when I walked over to a tobacconist, there was a sign on the door, that proclaimed he was out for lunch, just like a small town, but we were not in a small town.  I was also admiring how well all the women that were shopping were attired.  This was not a sweat-suit haven, but very chic woman with au-courant apparel, and I was enjoying the tableau that I was observing.  We have a very important event coming up next year, and as we wandered from shop to shop, I found something for my Bride that was not even on her radar yet, and we got her a beautiful formal outfit for next years festivity.  Suffice it to say, I do believe she was happy to have that out of the way, even though it was not a pressing concern at the moment.  For me the event will be easier, either a tuxedo or a suit, depending on the final plans.

 AZ North PC

After all of that shopping we not only had a thirst, but an appetite as well, so as we wandered around the shops and boutiques we settled on a restaurant called North, there tagline was “adding a touch of Italian to Kierland’s rich heritage.  Putting two and two together, I surmised that the restaurant was going to be offering Northern Italian cuisine as opposed to the heartier and heavier dishes encountered in the Southern parts of Italy.  So we got a table outside to enjoy the weather and have our meal.  My Bride was having a Caesar Salad with chicken (which I never understand, because I still think that she makes the greatest Caesar Salad around) while our friend had a Chopped Chicken Salad that she enjoys from this restaurant.  As for me I tempted fate and ordered Bolognese dish with homemade Tagliatelle pasta and Grana Padano, it was much different from my recipe but very enjoyable.

 AZ North Entrance Sign

To quench my thirst beyond the basic need for water, I selected a wine that I had not tried before.  It was Le Volte dell’Ornellaia 2011, a “Super Tuscan” wine, but a second tier wine from the legendary Ornellaia winery.  Now Ornellaia erupted unto the wine scene with their 1985 vintage and created a new image with their blend of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, Cabernet Franc and Petit Verdot.  The wine that I had ordered was a blend of Merlot, Sangiovese and Cabernet Sauvignon and it had a good nose and a very mellow taste for such a young wine.  This wine is aged in the used barrels from past Ornellaia production.  I was savoring it, and it was perfect for my Bolognese pasta.  The best part was that it was very affordable as compared to the flagship wine of Ornellaia.

Ornellaia 2001

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

