A Few More Wines

Since I think I covered most of the tables that really held my interest at the Culinary Extravaganza 2013 this will be my last post of that event until next year, if I am fortunate to go again.  My Bride may disagree as there were a couple of catering companies that had some awesome plates as well, but they would be harder for anyone to encounter on a normal night out.

 Lemon Creek Cabernet Franc

There were three additional wines that I thought should be mentioned before I leave this memory.  The first wine is a favorite varietal of my Bride’s.  We had a Lemon Creek Cabernet Franc 2010, that is from the AVA Lake Michigan Shore and they are situated in Berrien Springs.  While not as lusty as some Cabernet Franc wines, I find that this is one of the reds that seem to do well in Michigan, as well as in the Niagara Falls area of Ontario.  Sometimes I have to hide the wine lists from my Bride, because she will want me to order any Cabernet Franc wine, even if it doesn’t really go with our meals.  I really think her eyes glow when you say those two words.

 Barista

I saw another varietal that I have never tried before, but I have read about, and that is always a joy.  Sometimes it is better to try a wine in this type of setting, rather then paying a restaurant for a bottle of wine to accompany a dinner, and find it is not to your liking, which has happened to most people, if they are a bit adventurous with their selections.  We tried a Barista Pinotage 2012 which hails from South Africa.  Pinotage is South Africa’s signature varietal, and it is a cross between Pinot Noir and Cinsaut (which is called Hermitage in South Africa).  I found this particular wine to be on the light side, and I may have to try another winery’s offering before I pass judgment totally on Pinotage.

The Expedition Cabernet Sauvignon 2011

The last wine I will mention was touted very strongly by one of the volunteers who was manning one of the wine distributor tables at the show.  We tried “The Expedition” Cabernet Sauvignon 2011.  This was made by Canoe Ridge Vineyards of Walla Walla, Washington, and the grapes came from Horse Heaven Hills.  What surprised me was that the label said Cabernet Sauvignon, but it was actually a blended red of Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Syrah and Malbec.  It was more of a Meritage-style of wine, but not as meaty as some, but I think it would have been better at a sit down meal, instead of the grazing style of dining that we were doing at this show.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Few More Wines

  1. I’ve had the Barista Pinotage. It’s good you want to try some others, too. I find them most amenable when they have some age on their back (like 3-5 years), and good producers include L’Avenir and Tukulu, if you can find them…:)

Leave a Reply

