A Sad Day for a Cellar

When my Bride had returned from her last trip to Louisville, one of the empty bottles, she brought back from her trip was a Cain Five 2001.  When I asked her about this particular bottle, she informed me that it was the last bottle of Cain Five that our Brother-in-Law had in his cellar.  I also must admit that I have cellar envy, because his cellar is beautiful and well stocked compared to my work-man like cellar that is not a “show room.”  I immediately felt a tear forming, as this is a position I know that I will encounter one day, as this may have been one of the first “Meritage” style wines from California that I had ever encountered and I was an early proselytizer of this winery and this wine in particular.

 Cain Five Napa 2001

The odd thing is that this wine has captured my imagination far more, than a lot of wines.  I remember when I first starting my self guided education of wines, I started with wines from the Bordeaux region from blends to single Chateau offerings.   My association with this type of wine has been long and enduring.  The first encounter with this wine just blew me away, to use a current bit of modern slang.  The wine was so rich and powerful that I knew it would only get better as the dinner went on.  That occasion was perhaps fifteen years ago, and I have been raving about the wine ever since, to the point of perhaps driving people crazy.

I have also tried almost every other wine that the winery has produced, including a white wine.  They have all been winners for my palette and I have tried to add them to my cellar when ever I get a chance and my wallet will allow.  My Bride has also acquired my passion for this wine, which we have always used as a special occasion bottle.  When we spent a week in Napa Valley, this was one of the wineries that we booked almost immediately after getting our flight and living accommodations arranged.  We had a wonderful experience at the winery, as we took a tour of the grounds, before our tasting.  We were going to really damage our budget, as we wanted to secure a case of the current Cain Five, while we were there.  They informed us, that we were limited to two bottles.  We attempted to each make a separate purchase while at the winery, so that we could acquire four bottles, but they shot this idea down fast.  We as a group or family were limited to only the two bottles, this was the first time I ever encountered a limit to our procurement of wines.  From what I have gathered this wine is now only sold by subscription, so as our stock dwindles, we may have to look into the subscription process.

 Cain Five 1994

All of these thoughts crowded my brain, when I heard that my Brother-in-Law made such a generous offer, while my Bride was down visiting.  As I ponder the event, as much as I enjoy this wine, it is perhaps a good thing that I was not there, as the mere thought of the situation may have left me melancholy.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Sad Day for a Cellar

  1. Sally says:

    I’ve got so much to learn about Californian wines – your post just had me Googling for half an hour about Meritage which I wasn’t aware of. Don’t be melancholy – you will always remember the great tastings and there’s lots more on the horizon.

    • Sally,
      You are so right, one must always look forward to a new “find.” The array of wines is so vast, that one can always be pleased, it is just that some wines do become life-long favorites and it is sad, when one loses a friend. I hope you found some interesting facts about Meritage wines during your Google search.
      Thank you for taking the time to read my essay and even more time to for posting.
      – John

Leave a Reply

