My First Year Anniversary of Writing

I call myself “The Wine Raconteur” because I like the sound of the word, which is just an old fashioned word for a “story teller” and that is what I am, sometimes to the chagrin of others around me.  This is my first year anniversary of writing a daily article about wine.  Some may question my ability or my knowledge, but my initial premise was that I would talk about how wine became part of a memory.  I am not really into the minutiae of production notes that some of the wineries now publish, and I do not go on and on about the phantom traces of exotic tinges of taste, as that is not my style.  I enjoy wine and the good times that it brings and evokes.  I also enjoy the blessings of my Bride on this endeavor, and she puts up with my sometimes manic writing episodes.

 KY Churchill Downs Club House 01

The concept of a blog was almost alien to me when I started out, and I am still learning as I go.  I start my essays by finding my notes or a memento to jar my memory.  A matchbook, a wine label, maybe even talking to someone makes me think of a story.  I marvel at the technical expertise, some of my fellow Bloggers have for making hyper-links almost appear invisible.  I also think of some these fellow Bloggers that have become friends in the cyber world, and one I have actually met, and that was a most enjoyable evening.  Not only do I show some of the ugliest torn and shriveled labels, but I have already burned out one scanner this year from constant use.

I have tried to keep a balance to my writings; I do not want it all to be about very expensive and esoteric wines that no one will ever try, because they are too dear; so I also write about popular priced wines that have struck a chord with me.  There are plenty of stories that I will never write about, because the labels are totally hidden behind racks and bottles of wine, that I will never be able to photograph properly.  Some memories will have to lurk in the recesses of my mind, until something makes me remember the story, because I am lacking an initial visual reminder.

It took a while to get used to the demands of doing a daily blog, and posting according to Greenwich Mean Time.  I do enjoy reading the reports that my publisher furnishes me daily regarding readership, where in the world the readers come from, and what search words bring readers from different search engines.  In the world of blogs, my numbers are not awesome, but I have averaged about a thousand views each month, which does please me.

 KY Derby Museum Gala 01

I just want to thank everyone that reads my writing, because I do enjoy doing it.  Though due to increased demands on my time, I may only offer my musing every other day.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My First Year Anniversary of Writing

  1. Congratulations, John. What an exciting year this has been. You have shown me so many glimpses into the wine world and into old style Detroit, I am just so very thankful for it. I am really glad I came across your blog very early and had the privilege of following it all the way. Keep up the good work!!

  2. grace kulegian says:

    Congrats, Johno! I thoroughly enjoy your writing. All the best, grace

Leave a Reply

