“Gone With the Wind” and a Montepulciano d’Abruzzo

When I was a kid and we would go to the movies on Saturday afternoon in downtown Detroit, there were a couple of theaters that we were not allowed to go to, and one of them was the Fox Theater, and that was because it was in an area of the downtown that had already become seedy and forgotten about when I was a kid.  One of the prominent business men of Detroit purchased the Fox and brought it back to life for private parties, films, entertainers and theatrical productions.  It is beautiful with all of its prior décor, which has been restored.  It may very well be one of the most ornate theaters in existence today, and worthy of a visit to just to see how much going to the cinema was an event years ago.

MI GWTW Fox PB

 

So when there was a chance to see the 1939 classic “Gone With the Wind” on a big screen, we had to go see it.  I am sure that I had seen it several dozen times on the small screen and I knew the film by heart, I wanted to experience it, in the manner that it was supposed to be seen; in a theater that I had never been in before, even though I had lived my entire life in either Detroit or in the suburbs.

Miglicanico MdA 1995

 

This was a big date night, and we had dinner before the movie at Da Edoardo in the Fox complex.  We had already eaten another night at the original Da Edoardo restaurant and we were looking forward to another fine meal again.  We began with salads and then my Bride had Chilean Sea Bass and I had a Filet Mignon, and we followed the dinner with coffee and tiramisu.  We enjoyed a bottle of one of my favorite types of wine a Montepulciano d’Abruzzo.  This was a Miglianico 1995 and it was a good basic red, which we both enjoy.  This is a type of wine, that I have had good luck with almost any label or producer, without any bad experiences.  Perhaps that is why it has become one of my first wine choices.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to “Gone With the Wind” and a Montepulciano d’Abruzzo

  1. That sounds like fun! Is the theater still in operation these days?? Also, I love these reliable, simple reds. There is comfort in knowing they exist.

  2. janeykate says:

    wine, food and life blog! Love it!
    Jane x

Leave a Reply

