Another Christmas Season is Over

If you follow this blog with any regularity, you know that my Bride has her annual Ladies Party right after the Thanksgiving weekend and that it kicks off our Christmas Season at the house.  That entails about forty cartons up from the basement in a “closet” that I set up using four bookcases, two deep and two wide.  I grumble that we do not lose any decorations, but we do seem to acquire more.

The End of the Christmas Season

 

Well we keep the decorations up for about a month; I won’t take them down until after Armenian Christmas which is January Six.  Some of the other Orthodox religions celebrate on the Seventh.  Well I had to open up the “closet” and carry the forty cartons back up, take down the decorations, and pack them up in the carton that they came in.  Then had to take them all down and repack up the closet.  A thankless task, at least it feels like that while I am doing it.

J Sonoma

 

I finished the task, and I had worked up a thirst, so I decided to see what a worthy reward for all of my labors was.  I discovered that I had another bottle of J Sonoma Champagne 1997 refrigerated, and once it is on ice, you don’t want to put it back in the shelf, that would be certain death for the wine.  So I decided that this was a worthy moment to sit back and enjoy some bubbly for a job well done.  Any reason is a good reason to open a bottle of sparkling wine.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

