Christmas Eve

My Bride did a yeoman’s job preparing a feast for anyone that stopped by for dinner, even though she was under the weather and medicated.  We expected between twenty and thirty people to come and enjoy the evening.  Most of the crowd that arrived are not devoted wine drinkers.  Also with the snow, everybody was taking it easy, as they should.

 

One of our guests brought a bottle of Cabernet Sauvignon that he was happy about and wanted me to try.  He said that there was no heavy stuff as he put it.  He also told me he went to the winery.  I asked if he had gone to the Traverse City area, and he told me no, he was outside of Port Huron.  So I told him that it must be made from concentrate juice.  Not that I am an authority on wine making, but I explained how these store fronts are taking wine juice and creating “wine.”

 

The wine was a bottle of Vinomondo Winery of Fort Gratiot, Michigan.  The label states Lodi Ranch Cabernet Sauvignon.  It also had a “For sale in Michigan only” statement on the back label.  I have never seen that before, but perhaps because the wine juice came from California, maybe it is a legal technicality.  I must say that the wine was better than what I had anticipated, as I have had these types of wines before, and this wine had a much better taste.

Vinomondo Winery Cabernet Sauvignon

 

The more I thought about it, the more I was happy with the thought.  While it may not be wine in the classic mode or what most people think how wine should be made, it never the less gets people to try some wine.  If they enjoy it, it may lead them to try another bottle of wine, and perhaps the next wine will be a more classic structured wine.  I am not lambasting this whole other wine industry as they have a niche market, and I know some do it better than others.  I also think of all of the neat place seat gifts we have received at weddings where they give a bottle of wine with the happy couple’s information, a classier modern version of a book of wedding matches.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Wine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christmas Eve

  1. I think I agree: Whatever gets people to drink wine and be in company is fine. I have yet to be lucky with one of those wines, though. We passed through a city on our way to Lansing and stopped at a wine bar and the wines were, let’s say sub-par to be polite. When we asked the waitress where they grew the vines, because they also had a huge variety (I think way over 25 different grapes), she said they came from California…cheap European wines are full of these trans-border transported grape juices, so it is not an American phenomenon…

    • Oliver,
      I would say that we are on the same page about these “concentrated juice” wines. I hope that they serve as a stepping stone to discovering what a wine should taste like, and what wine enjoyment is all about.
      – John

  2. I feel the same way about sweeter and some mass produced low priced wines. Building blocks!
    Hope you have a wonderful 2013.
    Regards,
    Ernest.

Leave a Reply

