Baldos in Brownstown, Michigan and Apothic Red Wine

The other night my Bride and I were guests along with about twenty others for a very nice dinner at Baldos in Brownstown, Michigan.  Actually I had stopped there once before prior to going to my second Junior High School Reunion to eat before a night of partying, and my Bride has been there with clients, so we were both familiar to the establishment.  It is a family oriented Italian restaurant with several rooms and I saw a very busy carry out section as well.  While the restaurant is geared to families and not “gourmet oriented” we enjoyed a wonderful meal, courtesy of our host.

 

 

They brought out plates family style of appetizers; calamari, antipasto meats and cheeses, grilled vegetables, mushrooms and fresh mozzarella, pizzas, mussels in a Palimino Sauce and a spinach dip.  My Bride and I shared a slab of smoked ribs and I must say they were accompanied by the first set of French fries that I have enjoyed in ages.   The other guests enjoyed an assortment of Italian dishes, veal and steaks. We both skipped dessert as we were full from the other courses.

 

Most of the wines were served in carafes, with no indication of the brand, but we were brought out Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot and Chardonnay wines.  A couple of people asked me to choose a bottle from the wine list, and I chose a wine that is becoming a trendy wine as I have ascertained.  The wine is called Apothic Red Winemaker’s Blend 2010.  It is made by Apothic Wines of Modesto, California and is a blend of Zinfandel, Syrah, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot.  I found the wine to be very smooth with a slight sweet aftertaste, which I attribute to the Zinfandel grapes.  Since even in the restaurant the wine was very affordable, I will suggest that you try a bottle, since it was easy to drink without any pretense.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

