October Birthdays and a Dinner

Once a month the family gets together to celebrate all the birthday recipients at one time, we also took the occasion to celebrate our anniversary.  We had eighteen people for dinner, and my Bride could not be happier.  She was bustling around the kitchen all morning and afternoon in preparation.

 

 

It would not be a dinner without her great Caesar salad with the home made scratch dressing.  She also sautéed chicken breasts, made a leg of lamb with rosemary and garlic, mashed potatoes, gravy, vegetables and of course Armenian pilaf.   She made a brownie birthday cake for the October birthday guests (herself included) and then she topped off the menu with Bananas Foster.  I got a chuckle from her and a few of the others in the kitchen when I brought a fire extinguisher in from the garage.

 

 

Of course I had to go into the cellar and pick out some wine for everyone to enjoy.  I chose a couple of bottles of wine, that my Bride brought home from one of her trips to Traverse City.  We have been to the L. Mawby winery in Suttons Bay a couple of times, and my Bride has been there a couple of more times, but that will be another story.  We opened up a couple of bottles of M. Lawrence “Sandpiper” Sparkling Wine Extra Dry, which said it came from Batch #7 and each bottle was numbered.  These wines are made in small batches and fermented in the “cuve close method” as indicated on the label.  I prefer a little more sweetness myself in this type of wine, as I am always afraid that extra dry can be have little nuance.   I am happy to say that I could taste some fruit, and a little oak which made it more appealing.

 

We also had some Santa Rita Cabernet Sauvignon 2000 wine from the Rapel Valley of Chile.  This was a very well made wine and the tannins had mellowed and it had a very supple taste and a very nice color.  I have been trying this wine every now and then to see how it would age, as I knew very little about Chilean wines at the time that I had bought the original bottle.  We both enjoyed the first bottle and we went and bought a case of it while it was still new.  As can be expected there were enough tannins in the initial taste, to warrant cellaring the wine to watch it as it matures.  I have been very happy with each bottle we have had.

 

Our next dinner for the November birthday people will be done during the Thanksgiving dinner, and I have already purchased the wine for it, as I want to try something different for pairing with a turkey dinner.  That will also be another story.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Dining, Wine and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to October Birthdays and a Dinner

  1. Great post! Happy Anniversary!!–Did we all get married in October?

  2. Wow, amazing blog layout! How lengthy have you ever been blogging for? you make blogging glance easy. The whole look of your web site is wonderful, as neatly as the content material!

    • Thank you for your kind words. I have only been blogging for about six months. I can not take credit for the look of the site, for that you must give credit to WordPress. I am glad that you enjoyed my writing and I hope you enjoy wine.
      – John

Leave a Reply

