Lambrusco

Some days I write about wines that are legendary and some days I mention wines that are popular.  Lambrusco wines from Northern Italy have had peaks and valleys of popularity, and that is fine.  During the 1970’s Lambrusco wines were everywhere.  Television, radio, newspapers and periodicals all carried advertisements for Lambrusco wines.

 

We are not talking about great wines or artisan crafted wines, but wines that are produced in bulk, for the masses.  These are wines that are fun to drink or even to quaff (as I like to say).  The great thing about wines that have a day in the sun is that it introduces new people to wine, and that is wonderful.  The power of advertising is such, that it will induce someone to try a glass or bottle of wine with a dinner instead of a cocktail or a beer.  Lambrusco wines were perfect as an introductory wine for people.  There are no heavy tannins, no oakey nuances and no long lingering aftertaste.  A wine of this nature is a great starting point, to try other wines.

 

Lambrusco wines do not break the bank, price-wise.  It is an easy “foreign” word to pronounce and to remember.  These are both positive reasons, as far as I am concerned to get people to try wine.  I am always proselytizing about wines, and I always try to get someone to try a wine.  Lambrusco was safe, it was not dry, nor was it a sweet wine (OK sweet to me, but not cloying sweet or like a dessert wine).

 

I feel that once people venture out and try a wine with dinner, they find it a pleasant experience.  One pleasant experience leads to another and we have another budding wine aficionado.   That is why I never try to denigrate a person’s choice of wines (unless it is some wine left over from my teenage years that was created just to intoxicate).  I always try to suggest ways for people to expand on their tasting experiences.   I can say that I was lured to Lambrusco wines due to the power of advertising, and I feel that I have progressed to new vistas of wines.  Though as I write these words, I think that perhaps this coming summer, I shall look for a few Lambrusco wines that are not a bulk production and shall see what I think of them after all of these years.  After all, I have written about a couple of rose wines this year and a couple of years ago, I would not have even thought of buying any of that designation.

About thewineraconteur

A non-technical wine writer, who enjoys the moment with the wine, as much as the wine. Twitter.com/WineRaconteur Instagram/thewineraconteur Facebook/ The Wine Raconteur
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lambrusco

  1. I like your plan; “I shall look for a few Lambrusco wines that are not a bulk production”. The Riunite brand Lambrusco still moves like crazy at our store. I would say mostly with an older crowd and or those looking for the bargain price. I have not tasted it in easily a decade or two and may have to or another brand after reading your post.
    I am thinking today’s Lambrusco are wines such as Apothic, Cupcake Red Velvet etc. Somewhat sweeter wines attracting new blood to wines. At least for me, in the hopes they will expand their horizons and build from there.
    Thank you!

    • thewineraconteur says:

      I am glad to hear that there is still a solid segment for Lambrusco wines. Since I am not in the trade, I am removed from monitoring sales. A wine drinker is better than a non-wine drinker, I would surmise. Just think of future sales potential if you could get just ten percent to try a different wine, or up-sell them one wine to try as well. Your boss would be a very happy man.
      I am sorry to say, that I have not tried any of the new wines that you have listed. I must be living under a stone, I guess.
      Keep enjoying your grapes.

  2. Have you started to buy/try some of the authentic Lambruscos (min. 11% alc.)? Here’re some suggestions: http://www.lambruscoday.org/lambrusco-brand-reference-guide.html

Leave a Reply

